keronposts.blogg.se

Crucial ssd hdd for mac
Crucial ssd hdd for mac








crucial ssd hdd for mac
  1. #Crucial ssd hdd for mac how to
  2. #Crucial ssd hdd for mac install
  3. #Crucial ssd hdd for mac update
  4. #Crucial ssd hdd for mac pro

#Crucial ssd hdd for mac how to

Tl dr: I would like to know how to make OS X delete the old file when copying between drives. I guess OS X would need to copy the file to the other drive and then delete the old one. I know that in a single drive configuration all a move of a file does is alter the header to reflect the new path this is somewhat different. Is there any nifty terminal command that I can run that will make OS X treat copying files as if they were both on the same drive? Ideally I would be able to drag a file from one drive to the other and it would move the file similarly to copying on a normal single drive configuration. There would now be two of the same file on my computer. The issue, if you can call it that, is that if I drag a file from say, my desktop (SSD) to my documents folder (HDD) it will copy the file instead of moving it.

crucial ssd hdd for mac

Both are internal drives and are connected via SATA II.

#Crucial ssd hdd for mac pro

  • Restore using Disk Utility from the old HDD to the new SSD.So I have a specced out 2010 Macbook Pro that has both an SSD (for boot and programs) and an HDD (for mass storage).
  • #Crucial ssd hdd for mac install

    Fresh install of emed to get stuck after reboot.I performed the following attempts using System Recovery to no avail: I am trying to replace my wife's HDD with an SSD. I left it there when I left for work, but I have a feeling something is fishy that is causing it to do this. This time, however, when I try to erase the disk, it gets to EXACTLY the same spot the restoration got stuck at, then pauses. So, once again I force-cycle the power, and once again I hit Disk Utility. I hit Cancel on the restoration, and it says it's cancelling, but nothing.Īnother 20-30min later it still says "Cancelling.". The system is not locked up: I can move the mouse, drag the window, etc. This morning, however, when I checked the status I find that it's still stuck at like 15%. I checked it a few times before bed to make sure the progress was moving, then went to bed at about 10% or so. I hit the 'Go' button, it says "Setting up." for about 10min (I believe it was trying to calculate the time), then pops up with an estimated time to restore the new SSD from the old as 7hrs. Treats compressed and uncompressed files the same, resulting in consistently fast speeds. Features blazing-fast speeds - up to 500mb/s sequential reads. Ultrathin form factor provides lightweight mobility. Powerful SSD performance in a tiny mSATA form factor. I again erase the drive, but this time in Disk Utility I try to do a "Recovery" from the old drive to the new drive. Make sure this fits by entering your model number. Once again, I boot to System Recovery Mode. This happens at least one more time.įinally I try a different approach. I tried the install again, but again I get the white screen with the spinner. I let it run for another hour or so, then finally killed it by holding the power for 10sec. No indication it was actually doing anything, just spinning. At this point, I got the white Apple screen with the spinner.but it kept spinning, and spinning, and spinning. The system did the initial download as part of the System Recovery Mode, then said it was rebooting to complete the install. I would then use a Roswell SATA-to-USB cable to mount the old drive and do a "recovery" of all her old date.

    #Crucial ssd hdd for mac update

    The first thing I noted was that it wanted to install Lion instead of Mavericks, which was on it, but figured would update as soon as I get things rebuilt. I think picked the option for "Fresh Install". I started the Disk Utility and created a new partition on the SSD no problems. My plan was to simply swap the drives, replace the memory, then boot to System Recovery Mode (Cmd - R at boot) and do a fresh install. I finally broke down and decided to give it a boost by upping the memory to 16gb (from the stock 4gb) and replacing the 500gb HDD with a 480gb Crucial M500 SSD. My wife has been complaining about the speed of her Late 2011 MacBook Pro for the last year. There is s TL DR version below if you don't want the blow-by-blow edition. I want to make sure I get all the facts out so that hopefully I can get some help. First, I apologize for the length of this.










    Crucial ssd hdd for mac